Indian Academy of Sciences elects new Fellows – 2014

Jitendra K. Bera, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur

Area: Organometallic chemistry; small molecule activation; catalysis

Asit K. Chakraborti, National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education & Research, SAS Nagar

Area: Synthetic organic chemistry; green chemistry; medicinal chemistry

Sumantra Chattarji, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore Area: Neurobiology; biophysics; physiology

Naveen Garg, Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi

Area: Approximation algorithms; combinatorial optimization; graph theory and algorithms

Eknath Ghate, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

Area: Automorphic forms; number theory; galois representations; special values of L-functions

M. Jayananda, University of Delhi, Delhi

Area: Solid earth geochemistry; archean magmatism; continental growth; tectonics

M. Krishnamurthy, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

Area: Intense laser physics; atomic; molecular & optical sciences; high energy density science

Giridhar U. Kulkarni, JN Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore Area: Nanomaterials; nanolithography & fabrications; molecular crystals & properties

Manikuntala Kundu, Bose Institute, Kolkata

Area: Stress response in *Mycobacterium tuberculosis*; immunology of host cell response to *Helicobacter pylori*

Giridhar Madras, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Area: Polymer; supercritical fluids; catalysis

Priya Mahadevan, SN Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata

Area: Electronic structure of materials:

Area: Electronic structure of materials; magnetism; nanostructure materials

Subeer S. Majumdar, National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi

Area: Animal biotechnology; transgenic animals; endocrinology

Gautam Mandal, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

Area: Quantum field theory; gravity; string theory

Pradeep Mujumdar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Area: Hydrology; climate change impacts; uncertainty quantification

Mitali Mukerji, CSIR-Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology, Delhi

Area: Human molecular genetics; genomics & genome informatics; ayurgenomics

Shailesh Nayak, Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences, New Delhi

Area: Coastal & ocean processes; oceanography

K. S. M. S. Raghavarao, CSIR-Central Food Technological Research Institute, Mysore

Area: Food engineering; biotechnology

C. V. Ramana, CSIR–National Chemical Laboratory, Pune

Area: Total synthesis; carbohydrate chemistry; transition metal catalysis

Ravi A. Rao, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

Area: Classical algebraic K-theory; commutative algebra; linear algebra

Syamal Roy, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata

Area: Immunology; parasitology; vaccine research

Susanta Roychoudhury, CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology, Kolkata Area: Cancer biology; human genetics; genomics

Annapurni Subramaniam, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore

Area: Stellar population; nearby galaxies, star clusters, stellar evolution; galactic dynamics

V. Subramanian, CSIR-Central Leather Research Institute, Chennai

Area: Computational chemistry, noncovalent interactions; biomolecular simulations

Nikhil Tandon, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi

Area: Endocrinology; chronic disease epidemiology

Honorary Fellows

Arogyaswami J. Paulraj, Stanford University, Stanford, USA

Veerabhadran Ramanathan, University of California, San Diego, USA

Brian P. Schmidt, Mount Stromlo Observatory, The Australian National University, Australia