Following day, the participants moved to Sam, Jaisalmer. On the way they saw Pokaran Boulder Bed (PBB), considered to be the base of MSG. Chauhan *et al.*<sup>5</sup> and Bhatt *et al.*<sup>6</sup> have discussed its origin and lithostratigraphic position. The origin of PBB, i.e. whether it is glacial deposit or not, is being debated. Participants were unanimous that there is no evidence to consider PBB as a glacial boulder bed.

During the return journey to Jodhpur participants saw the Malani Igneous Suite in Baukan Section. The valedictory session was held at Jodhpur. The oil industry was interested in the sequence stratigraphic framework of the MSG basin which will be helpful to understand

the environment of deposition, lithofacies, structural set-up and microbial life in the basin. Palaeontological data need support from sedimentological inputs. New macrofossil morpho-forms, some of which are enigmatic, can give important clues regarding early multicellular organisms and their evolution. Felsic volcanic unit of Chhoti Khatu could be significant and provide precise age constraint for the basin.

All participants appreciated the informative, elegantly prepared field guide book and the meticulous planning of the field trip by the scientists from BSIP.

 Raghav, K. S., De, C. and Jain, R. L., *Indian Min.*, 2005, 59, 23–30.

- Paliwal, B. S., J. Geol. Soc. India, 1998, 52(1), 81–86.
- 3. Kumar, S. and Pandey, S. K., *Curr. Sci.*, 2008, **94**, 1081–1085.
- 4. Kumar, S. and Pandey, S. K., *J. Asian Earth Sci.*, 2010, **38**, 77–85.
- Chauhan, D. S., Mathur, K. M. and Ram, N., J. Geol. Soc. India, 2001, 58(5), 425– 433.
- Bhatt, D. K., Prasad, S., Jain, R. L. and Mathur, A. K., J. Geol. Soc. India, 2005, 65, 301–308.

S. K. Pandey\* and Bandana Dimri, Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeobotany, 53 University Road, Lucknow 226 007, India. \*e-mail: sangeology@yahoo.co.in

## **Indian Physics Association Awards**

The Indian Physics Association Awards 2012 were recently presented by M. K. Sanyal (President, Indian Physics Association) at a function organized on 11 April 2014 at the Multipurpose Hall, BARC Training School Hostel, Anushaktinagar, Mumbai.

R. D. Birla Memorial Award 2012 was awarded jointly to T. V. Ramakrishnan (Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore) and Ajay Sood (IISc). Ramakrishnan has made pioneering contributions in the theory of freezing of liquids and in the localization of electrons due to disorder. Sood has researched in the areas of Raman spectroscopy and soft matter physics. The award is given once in two years for excellence in pure physics and carries a citation, gold medal and cash prize of Rs 50,000.

M. M. Chugani Memorial Award for excellence in applied physics for 2012 was awarded to O. N. Srivastava (Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi) for his significant contributions in the areas of hydrogen storage in nanomaterials and in the fields of non-crystallized solids. The award carries a citation, gold medal and cash prize of Rs 1 lakh.

The Buti Foundation Award for 2012 was given jointly to Aditi Sen De (Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad) for contributions to quantum information, quantum optics and foundations of quantum mechanics and V. K. Chandrasekar (Bharathidasan University, Tiruchirappalli) for the understanding of the fundamental aspects of nonlinear dynamics and complex systems. The award is given for outstanding contributions in the area of theoretical applied physics, astrophysics and biophysics. It carries a citation, a gold medal and a cash prize of Rs 25,000.

The first P. K. Iyengar Memorial Award for excellence in experimental physics was awarded to S. M. Yusuf (Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, Mumbai), for his significant contributions in the field of magnetism particularly involving neutron scattering. The award is given for outstanding contributions in terms of innovative experimental techniques or innovative instrumentation. The award consists of a citation and a cash prize of Rs 100,000.

Earlier awardees include, the Nobel Laureates Prof. Abdus Salam and Prof. S. Chandrasekhar among others are Prof. A. Salam, Prof. B. V. Sreekantan, Prof. Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar, Prof. R. Ramanna, Prof. Govind Swarup, Prof. Sivaramakrishna Chandrasekhar, Dr. P. K. Iyengar, Prof. R. Chidambaram, Prof. G. S. Agarwal, Prof. J. V. Narlikar, Prof. Ashoke Sen, Prof. Bikash Sinha and Prof. P. K. Kaw.

**Parul R. Sheth,** E-705/706 Kalp Nagri, Vaishali Nagar, Mulund (West), Mumbai 400 080, India.

e-mail: parulrsheth@gmail.com