Association Notes

By Sri P. S. Roychowdhury, M.A.E., M.S.E. (Lond.), F.V.I. (Lond.) Hony. Secretary.

(Covering period January to March, 1959)

Extract from the Minutes of the Proceedings :-

The Council condoled the death of Sri Harshanath Mukherjee, a member of the Association. All Members present stood up and observed a minute's silence as a mark of honour to the memory of the deceased.

C.M. 2-2-59.

11 1 1 1

The following members were elected Office-bearers of the Association for the year 1959.

Sri P. S. Roychowdhury, Hon. Secretary,

Sri D. N. Dey and Sri G. C. Saha, Hony. Assistant Secretaries.

Sri Sarajaksha Basu, Hony. Editor.

Sri A. Deb, Hony. Librarian.

The date for the Annual General Meeting of the 40th year and programme was fixed as follows:—

Annual General Meeting—Thursday the 26th February, 1959. A paper on "Civil Aviation and Its Future" by Sri D. Chakrabarty, B.Sc. (Glas.), M.A.E.

The following Sub-Committees were formed: -

- •1. Library and Journal Sub-Committee—Consisting of the Librarian Sri N. N. Rudra, Sri S. Basu, Sri K. K. Sen Gupta and Ward Councillor, Sri D. C. Mazoomdar.
- 2. Editorial Board—The following members were elected in the Editorial Board—The Editor, Sri P. C. Bose, Sri P. P. Guha, Sri P. C. Chakraborty and Sri D. Chakraborty.
- 3. Finance Sub-Committee—The following members also were elected in the Finance Sub-Committee—Sri K. K. Sen Gupta, Sri G. S. Mitter, Sri H. N. Chakrabarty, Sri P. L. Mukherjee and Sri Sukumar De.

(Covering period April/June, 1959.)

Extract from the Minutes of the Proceedings.:

The Council condoled the death of Sri H. S. Wasal, an Associate Member of the Association. All members present stood up and observed a minute's silence as a mark of honour to the memory of the deceased.

C. M. 26-6-59.

Regarding the question of nominating a representative of the Association to the West Bengal Electricity Board, it was proposed that Sri N. N. Rudra be nominated to the Electricity Board.

Regarding the publication of Association Journal—It was decided to make the journal upto date with a combined issue of arrears.

In memory of Late Mr. Bruhl—an essay competition be invited from the Final Year Students of the Engineering College. The prize will be awarded as follows:—

> 1st prize Rs. 100-00 2nd prize Rs. 30-00

The following members were elected to the Bruhl Memorial Funds Committee:

Sri S. Basu.

Sri N. N. Rudra.

Sri A. Deb.

(C. M. 26-6-59.)

(Covering period July-September, 1959.)

The Council condoled the death of Sri J. N. Chakrabarty Associate Member, since 1924. All members present stood up and observed a minute's silence as a mark of honour to the memory of the deceased.

(Nomination for election to the Council for 1960.)

It was announced that the following six members were to retire at the end of 1959:—

Sri J. C. Ganguli.

Sri V. Venkatesan.

Sri P. C. Chakrabarty.

Sri S. Bandopadhyaya,

Sri S. K. Sur.

Sri K. C. Paul.

Name proposed for President: -Sri T. K. Ghosh.

Name proposed for Vice-Presidents: -Sri A. C. Sen, Sri G. S. Mitter.

Name proposed for Hony. Treasurer: -Sri K. K. Sen Gupta.

In the vacancies caused by retirement of six members the following names were proposed for election:—

Sri S. K. Gangopadhyaya,	Sri M. C. Ghosh,
Sri D. N. Dey.	Sri M. S. Guha Mustaffi,
Sri G. C. Saha.	Sri J. C. Dey.
Sri S. Bandopadhyaya.	Sri B. K. Dam.
Sri S. K. Sur.	Sri H. N. Chakrabarty.
Sri K. C. Paul.	Sri S. P. Nandi.
Sri S. K. Gangopadhya.	Sri K. Bhattacharjee.

ADDITIONS TO MEMBERSHIP LIST.

Ledger No.	Name. Associate Member	Date of Election.
N. 85.	Sri K. M. Das	22-12-56
N. 94.	Sri J. C. Deb.	30-7-59
N. 92.	Sri Mihir Bose.	30-7-59
N. 93•	Sri P. Chatterjee.	30-7-59
N. 90.	Sri B. K. Dam. Student.	24-4-59
N. 95.	Sri N. K. Biswas.	30-7-59
	Graduate.	
N. 88.	Sri M. H. Patel.	2-2-59