ASSOCIATION NOTES

By Sri C. K. Halder, M.Sc., A.M.A.E. and Sri P. S. Roychowdhury, B.Sc. A.M.A.E., Hony. Secretary.

(Covering period January to March, 1956.)

Extract from the Minutes of the proceedings:-

The following members were elected Office-bearers of the Association for the year 1956:

Sri C. K. Haldar, Hony. Secretary.

Sri P. C. Chakrabarty and Sri M. S. Guha Mustafi, Hony. Asst. Secretaries.

Sri Sarojaksha Basu, Hony. Editor.

Sri Gouri Sankar Mitter, Hony. Librarian.

In the vacancy caused by the election of Sri P. C. Chakrabarty and Sri G. S. Mitter as Office-bearers, the following appointments in the Council were made:—

Sri M. S. Guha Mustafi and Sri N. N. Sen.

(C.M. 27.1.56.)

The following Sub-Committees were formed: -

- 1. Library & Journal Sub-Committee—Consisting the Librarian Editor, Sri P. C. Bose, N. N. Rudra, K. B. Banerjee, H. N. Chakrabarty, K. K. Sen Gupta and Ward Councilor Sri D. C. Mazoomdar.
- 2. Editorial Board:—The following members were elected in the Editorial Board—The Editor, Sri P. C. Bose, Sri B. N. Sen and Sri J. C. Ganguli.
- 3. Finance Sub-Committee—The following members also were elected in the Finance Sub-Committee—Sri H. N. Chakrabarty, Sri P. S. Roychowdhury, Sri N. N. Sen, Sri S. K. Sur, Sri G. S. Mitter, Sri S. N. Mukherjee and Sri M. S. Guha Mustafi.

ADDITIONS TO MEMBERSHIP LIST

Associate Member.

Ledger No.	Name	Date of Election
N. 67.	Sri S. C. Bhattacharya	27.1.56
N. 68.	Sri S. K. Chakrabarty.	9.3.56

The application from Sri K. K. Aggarwal for Gard. Membership was accepted subject to his passing the 'A' & 'B' Examination.

(C.M. 9.3.56.)

(Covering the period April to June, 1956.)

The Council condoled the death of Sri Pratul Chandra Sarkhel, A.M.A.E., an Associate Member of the Association. All members present stood up and observed a minutes's silence as mark of honour to the memory of the deceased.

(C.M. 22.6.56.)

The question of nominating a representative of the Association to the Governing Body of the Calcutta Engineering College was considered.

It was proposed that Srí N. N. Rudra, be re-nominated as the representative to the Governing Body of the Calcutta Engineering College for the period 1.6.56 to 31.5.58.

(C.M. 18.5.56.)

ADDITIONS TO MEMBERSHIP LIST

Associate Member.

	1200001110	
Ledger No.	Name	Date of Election
N. 70.	Sri Krishna Das Roy	26.4.56
N. 14.	Sri Sital Prosad Nandi	2 6.4.56.
_	(by promotion).	

The Applications from Sri Jugal Krishna Nag and Sri Ganesh Chunder Das for Associate Membership were accepted subject to their passing the 'B' & 'C' Examination.

(C.M. 26.4.56.)

(Covering period July to September, 1956.)

The Council condoled the death of Rai A. N. Das Bahadur, who had been a member of the Association since 1928 and President for five years, the members present all stood up and observed one minutes' silence as a mark of respect to the memory of the deceased.

(C.M. 14.9.56.)

(Nomination for election to the Council for 1957.)

It was announced that the following six members were to retire at the end of 1956:—

na or 1950.—	
Sri A. K. Datta	Sri K. B. Banerjce
Sri H. D. Banerjee	Sri N. N. Sen
Sri R. R. Chibba	Sri D. N. Dey

Name proposed for President: — Sri T. K. Ghosh

Name proposed for Vice-Presidents: -

Sri D. S. Desai

Sri A. C. Sen

Name proposed for Hony. Treasurer:— Sri H. N. Chakrabarty

In the vacancies caused by retirement of six members the following names were proposed for election:—

Sri A. C. Dutta Gupta
Sri K. M. Chatterjee
Sri G. C. Saha
Sri P. N. Bagchi
Sri H. D. Banerjee
Sri N. N. Sen
Sri C. K. Haldar
Sri P. C. Chakrabarty
Sri M. S. Guha Mustaffi
Sri R. R. Chibba
Sri R. R. Chibba
Sri D. N. Dey
Sri K. B. Banerjee

(C.M. 14.9.56.)

ADDITIONS TO MEMBERSHIP LIST

Associate Member.

Ledger No. N. 39.	Name Sri Gour Chandra Saha	Date of Election 17.8.56
	(by promotion).	. 0
N. 72.	Sri Promode Ranjan Pal	$17. \stackrel{\textbf{8}}{\bullet} .56$
227.	Member Sri Pran Sankar Roychowdhury	17.8.56
·	(by promotion).	, -

The application from Sri M. K. Dass for Associate Membership was accepted to his passing the Sec. A & B Examination.

(C.M. 14.9.56.)

(Covering period October to December, \$956.)

The question of election an Hony. Secretary in the place of Sri C. K. Haldar, who is due to leave Calcutta at the end of October, 1956 on parmanent transfer to Poona. was considered.

It was proposed by Sri H. D. Banerjee, that Sri P. S. Roychowdhury elected Hony. Secretary. The proposal was seconded by Sri H.

N. Chakrabarty and carried unanimously.

It was decided to hold an Ordinary meeting of the Association on Friday the 30th November, 56 for the purpose of appointment of Scrutineers in connection with election of members of the Council for 1957.

(C.M. 13.11.56.)

The name of the Scrutineers of election by ballot was read and the result announced by the Chairman was as follows: -

President: -Sri T. K. Ghosh.

Vice-President: -Sri D. S. Desai and Sri A. C. Sen.

Hony, Treasurer: -Sri H. N. Chakrabarty.

Six Ordinary Members: -

Sri H. D. Banerjee

Sri K. B. Banerjee

Sri P. C. Chakrabarty

Sri N. N. Sen

Sri C. K. Haldar

Sri R. R. Chibba

ADDITIONS TO MEMBERSHIP LIST

Associate Member.

Ledger No. Name

Sri Harshadhari Bhattacharjee N. 71.

Date of Election 21.12.56

The application from Shri N. Chakrabarty for Associate Membermip was accepted subject to his passing the Sec. 'B' & 'C' Examination. (C.M. 21.12.56.)